Three Birthday Pieces (2019)


For Symphony Orchestra

3,2,2,2  2,3,2,0.  hrp, celesta, acc, 2 perc, strings

on the occasion of LouisAndriessen’s 80th birthday concert Matinee

30 nov 2019 Concertgebouw Amsterdam

Commissioned by Kees Vlaardingerbroek and composed for the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra with financial support by the Vrienden van de Matinee


for Louis

1:Birthday Choral

2:Keizersgracht Shuffle

3:The one and only

Duration c 18’00”

Donemus publisher

 Meer informatie

Triple Concertino (2018)

for Three woodwinds solo and Orchestra

Commissioned by Floris Don and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra.

Written with financial support by the Performing Arts Fund NL for Ron Tijhuis, Hans Wisse, Romke-Jan Wijmenga, Jan Willem de Vriend and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

eh solo, bcl solo, cbsn solo

2fl, 2ob, 2cl, 2bsn, 2hrn, 2trp, timp, perc(1), strings

1: First Movement

2: Quiet, Simple

3: Polka Swing

Duration 19′

Donemus publisher

Galimathias Musicum (2015-16)

for Symphony orchestra (and forte piano)

2fl(fl-a) 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h 2trp perc fortepf str

duration 26′

composed with financial support by the FPK for het Residentie Orkest

publisher Donemus

Entrance (version 2015)

for Orchestra

2fl 2ob 2cl 2fg 4h 2trp 3trb tb timp 2perc str

duration 6′

composed with financial support by the FPK for Jurjen Hempel and NSO

publisher Donemus

Ick seg adieu (2015)

for symphony orchestra

3333 4311 timp 3 perc hrp strings

commissioned by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra for the farewell concert of Mariss Jansons

duration 6’30”

Padding Music Productions

Reports from the Low Country (2016)

concerto for double bass and symphony orchestra

2fl fl(picc) 2ob eh 2cl cl-b 2fg cfg 4h 3trp 2trb trb(trb-b) tb timp 3perc hp db-solo acc str

duration 24′

commissioned by Kees Vlaardingerbroek and composed with financial support by the FPK for Rick Stotijn and The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra for the Zaterdag Matinee

published by Donemus

Es ist Genug (2014)

arrangement of J.S. Bach’s choral Es ist Genug as a prelude to Alban Berg’s violin concerto

for symphony orchestra

duration 2′

commissioned by Susanne van Elst for the symphony orchestra of the Royal Conservatory of Den Haag

Padding music productions

Glimpse (2010)

for period orchestra or contemporary symphony orchestra

2fl 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h 2trp timp str

duration 12′

composed with financial support by the Holland Festival for Jos van Immerseel and Anima Eterna

publisher Donemus

Three Reflections on Previous Thoughts (2007-9)

for soprano and orchestra

 sopr 2fl ob cl cl-b sax-s sax-a sax-t 2sax-b 4h 3trp 3trb trb-b 2perc hp pf str


composed with financial support by het Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst for Jurjen Hempel and the Metropole Orkest.

publisher Donemus

In memoriam Hector Berlioz (2006-2011)

for voice (soprano) and orchestra

sopr 2fl(pic) 2ob 2cl 3fg cfg 4h 4trp 2trb trb-b tb hp 4perc vl vla vc cb

duration 21′

composed with financial support by the FPK for het Gelders Orkest

publisher Donemus